Another Food Blog

I’ve been wanting to document my obsession with food and beer for a while now but I thought “does the world really need one more food blog”? Probably not but I’ve decided you’re going to get one anyway.

I’ve lived in NYC for almost 2 years now since I graduated from college. I’m lucky to be surrounded by an amazing group of friends who love eating as much as I do. We’ve made it a point to go out to at least one fabulous meal a month. I’m hoping that this blog will be a way to document the restaurants, bars, food vendors, etc., that I get to try in the city and elsewhere. I’m also an avid beer drinker and enjoy nothing more than finding a new beer to try or even trying my hand at brewing! With any luck I’ll be able to convince some of my friends to contribute to this blog, either with reviews of restaurants they try or recipes they cook at home. The possibilities are endless!

Since this is my first post I feel I should tell you a little about myself. I grew up in household that loved food (my dad is Italian and my mom just loves to cook). When I was a kid I would spend most of my time in the kitchen watching my parents cook or helping them once I was old enough. Sundays meant I would wake up to the smell of my dad making “Sunday Gravy” aka tomato sauce with meatballs, sausage, and pork. My best friend’s mom would always say our house smelled like love on those days. My passion for beer has been a more recent development but no less important. I suppose it started with my first sip of Dogfish Head 90 Minute IPA. It was like an epiphany “aha! this is how beer should taste!” My first IPA and I can tell you I’ve never looked back.

Anyway, this weekend my friends and I will be heading to Birreria, Eataly’s new rooftop brewpub, where we will be eating delicious brats and sampling even better beer from the masterminds behind Dogfish Head, Del Borgo, and Baladin. Here’s the website: Birreria. Until then!

One thought on “Another Food Blog

  1. Welcome to the Blogosphere! Looking forward to hearing about your trip to the Birreria. Walked through Eataly in the early spring. Amazing place. Pity the travel budget didn’t allow me to splurge as much as I would have liked.

    Have not had any Del Borgo beers yet, but have had oodles of Dogfish Head and the Baladin Nora. Great stuff!

    Cheers!
    G-LO

Leave a Reply

