Po’ Boys at Cheeky Sandwiches

Cheeky Sandwiches

I have a confession, prior to my first time at Cheekys, I had never had a po’ boy before. Crazy! This means that I have absolutely nothing to compare this sandwich to, at least in terms of authenticity. My taste buds certainly approve though. Cheeky Sandwiches is a tiny little storefront on Orchard below Hester St. that serves New Orleans style food. From what I know, the man who opened the store, Din Yates, is from NOLA and has the bread shipped in from his hometown.

Half & Half Po' Boy

And what delicious bread it is! Crusty and crackly on the outside, soft and airy on the inside, it’s a perfect delivery method for the lightly breaded and fried shrimp and oysters. You can get either an entire sandwich with shrimp or entirely with oysters or you can do the right thing and get half & half. The sandwich is dressed with lettuce, tomatoes, mayo, pickles, hot sauce, and ketchup. It’s truly an awesome sandwich and at $8.50 pretty reasonably priced as well. The seafood is fresh and not greasy. The toppings really complete the whole experience. I don’t how this compares to a real po’ boy from New Orleans but I plan to head down there to find out. Thanks Cheeky for making me want to get to New Orleans more than I already do.

So many Zapps to try!

They have more than just po’ boys here. There are 5 sandwiches, 2 breakfast sandwiches, Zapps chips, Big-Shot sodas, and of course the beignet, which they spell ben-yay! I always end up getting the po’ boy even though all of the other options sound just as delicious. Someday I’ll branch out and report back on their other offerings.

Leave a Reply

