Madison Square Eats Round 2

I spend a lot of my spare time reading up on new food/restaurants to try, so when I read Dana’s post about this festival, I was baffled that I didn’t remember hearing about it, but excited that it was still going on.  Last Saturday, when apparently half of the people I know had the stomach flu, I made my first trip for dinner and was pretty much determined to try all of Dana’s recommendations.  Emily pretended to feel okay enough to at least walk with me to give me company and for that I was grateful.  After walking through the actual park wondering where it was, we finally found it on the street close to Eataly.  We housed the Roberta’s Bee Sting, although the seasonal pie looked great as well.  Next, I had a Mel and Steve from Asiadog, and I asked for chicken but they definitely gave me beef.  I am not complaining though.  Next it was time to finish with the always enticing Crack Pie from Momofuku Milk Bar.  Having had it once before, I am officially a “Crack Head.” (I don’t know if that is a legit saying about people who love this pie but I imagine it is).  Anywho, I was devastated to find out that they were sold out for the night!!  I pulled myself together and “settled” for a belgian waffle from Waffles and Dinges.  We got it with Speculoos spread and whipped cream.  I have no idea what is in that spread but it is heavenly.  Kind of Graham Cracker/Gingerbread-y with the texture of peanut butter.  Having spent some time in Belgium in high school, I think the Belgian Waffle is the first “Yeah this is good, but you should try the real stuff from (insert country here)” food obsession I developed.  My Mom now stocks her house with them when I come home on holidays because I’m a brat I’m spoiled I’m her favorite she loves me.  Waffles and Dinges does measure up to some of the best, though.

Walking around the festival, however, I noticed there were so many good options I wanted to try that it warranted a second trip.  With the flu still trying to take down the city, I went solo Wednesday night and the rain meant no lines. 

Red Hook Lobster Pound Connecticut Roll

I had my heart set on Red Hook Lobster Pound for a Connecticut roll since Saturday so I went there first.  Rather than the more traditional style, this one comes warm tossed in butter.  You know they do it right when big chunks of lobster fill the roll and the warm butter added such great flavor.  I still think Luke’s Lobster is the best roll in town, though.

The Milk Truck Classic

Onto course number two.  I had recently read an article about the best grilled cheese’s in the country and so when I saw the tent for The Milk Truck, which was on the list, I thought this must be fate.  What I didn’t think about was, “Hmm, is all of this going to settle well in my stomach?”  But I was fine.  I digress.  I got the classic, which is gruyere on buttered bread from Balthazar’s.  I have always been a fan of classic grilled cheeses with no fancy shmancy add ins.  While this sandwich was indeed amazing, I still think my Mom makes the best grilled cheese I’ve ever had.  This is probably due to the fact that she uses the best secret ingredient ever, Velveeta but I cannot reveal it.

Sigmund's Truffle Cheddar

Finally, time for some Crack Pie!  Wait, you have got to be kidding me.  Why is the Momofuku Milk Bar tent closed up?  This can’t be happening.  I feel like Tyrone Biggums right now, here for the 5 O’clock free crack give away and there is no crack to be found.  (I hope someone gets that reference.)  I decided to finish my meal with a pretzel from Sigmund’s, and treated myself to an additional cookie from there too to eat my sadness.  I had the cheddar truffle pretzel which was good, but not memorable.  This was later followed by the cookie which was peanut butter chocolate chip, with pretzel pieces baked in.  Normally I am not big on peanut butter flavor in cookies, however, it was subtle enough that the cookie was actually awesome.  The pretzel added a great salty balance to the sweet and the cookie was probably the tiniest bit under cooked, aka perfectly cooked.

Sigmund's Cookie

Despite my need for an intervention, as well as my one too many Mama’s boy references, the festival was, all in all, quite a success.  (Ends today for anyone wanting to go one last time)

Leave a Reply

