Half Marathon

I was never a runner. My sport has always been tennis. Doesn’t that require running? Yes, but it’s sprinting. Need me to run a suicide? I can do it (grudgingly) but if you need me to run more than a mile I will keel over and die. At least that’s how it was until this summer when my boyfriend’s family signed us up for a 5k to support Colon Cancer. My only goal was to run the entire way, which I did. I also discovered that I didn’t hate running.

Fast forward to Halloween when Kim, who also ran the 5k with me, drunkenly talked me into running the NYC Half Marathon with her. Okay, okay, I admit running a half marathon was something I had been thinking about but I probably never would have signed up for one on my own. Running that far was always something I considered out of my reach but something that I viewed as the ultimate accomplishment. Needless to say, I am really excited about doing this! Terrified, but excited.

Kim and I have signed up through the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society and will be fundraising for them. It’s a great cause and they’re an incredible foundation. They’ll also be helping us to train (thank god!). Our donation pages are below and for anyone who wants to give I can’t tell you how much we’d appreciate it. Also, Ms. Kimbo has started her own blog to document the experience so check it out.

http://pages.teamintraining.org/nyc/halfnyc12/ddelgaldo

http://pages.teamintraining.org/nyc/halfnyc12/kjohnsolaf

6 thoughts on “Half Marathon

  1. Good luck on your first half marathon! I ran my first one in June, and trust me- I am not a runner. Still, it was one of the greatest accomplishments of my life. I wish I’d done Team in Training since I wasn’t the most consistent with my training.

  2. Congrats on signing up for your first half! I used to not call myself a runner and I could barely run a mile and now, I’m training for my second marathon. Whew, how things change!

    Also, TNT is an excellent organization to train for your first race!

Leave a Reply

