Peppermint Bark

It’s ironic that my first recipe on here will be a baking one, considering I don’t really bake. It’s too precise, too scientific, too not me. My style of cooking is to look at a recipe and then just throw in whatever ingredients I want. I taste along the way, adjust, make things up but you can’t do that with baking. However, my love of all things peppermint finally made me attempt peppermint bark. Turns out, it really couldn’t be easier (this is not even really baking).

Peppermnt Bark Ingredients

I took my recipe from Allrecipes.com because it seemed the easiest and most pepperminty. I did halve the recipe because I wasn’t sure how my first attempt would work out and I didn’t want to waste a whole bunch of delicious chocolate.

Ingredients:

  • 8 ounces of good bittersweet chocolate
  • 8 ounce of good white chocolate
  • 2 teaspoon of canola oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon of peppermint extract
  • 25 candy canes – crushed

First, chop up your chocolate so that it will melt quickly and more evenly. See my wonderfully demonstrated pictures.

Chop, chop, chop

More chopping!

Next set up a double boiler – remember that the water from the bottom pot shouldn’t touch the top one. Once the water comes to a simmer put the chocolate and half the canola oil in. Stir it while it melts – this happens pretty quickly so have your 9×9 pan prepared beforehand and ready to go. I lined mine with wax paper. Once the chocolate has melted put in half the peppermint extract. Then pour into the pan and evenly distribute the chocolate. The recipe said to put half the crushed candy canes in a this point but I didn’t. I put the pan into the refrigerator to set for 30 minutes. While this happens clean your double boiler so you can do the white chocolate next.

Once the chocolate has set get the double boiler going again and repeat the same process with the white chocolate. Canola oil, white chocolate, stir while it melts. Then stir in the peppermint extract. Once melted, pour it on top of the already cooled chocolate and spread evenly. Now at this point you can sprinkle the crushed candy canes on top. Be sure to gently push them in so that they don’t all fall off once the white chocolate cools. Put it back in the fridge and let it set 45-60 minutes.

Mmm almost there

Voila! You have peppermint bark. Pull it off of the wax paper and break it up into uneven pieces. Seriously the easiest recipe ever and I will never buy peppermint bark from Williams-Sonoma again (even though it will always have a special place in my heart).

Finished Product

I will say I thought this was pretty good, especially for my first attempt. Unfortunately, that night I got food poisoning so I’m kind of off peppermint right now but I’m sure that’ll change. Next up I might attempt to make some toffee – but that requires a candy thermometer so we’ll see.

One thought on “Peppermint Bark

Leave a Reply

