Just Keep Running

Time for a running update (because I haven’t uploaded my food pictures yet). First and foremost – I reached my fundraising minimum of $1,600! So thank you to everyone who had donated to me thus far. Words can’t tell you how much I appreciate it. I’m beyond excited to run this thing and knowing that I have enough support from family and friends to raise that much money makes this whole experience even better. If you haven’t given, don’t worry, there’s still time! http://pages.teamintraining.org/nyc/halfnyc12/ddelgaldo

In other running news, I have signed up for my 2nd half marathon (don’t worry, no donations required this time). I’ll be running the NJ Half on May 6. Megan, Kim, and I will be joined by Mari and Liz for this race, along with Rick and some of his family! I think I must be going crazy but it should be fun…you know if running 13.1 miles can be considered fun? I don’t see how it can but maybe by then I’ll feel differently.

Which brings me to my last point. This past Saturday I ran 11 miles. ELEVEN miles. I ran for almost 2 hours straight. And the entire time all I could think about was how much I hated Frederick Law Olmsted, in the future referred to only as Satan. What would possess him to create so many hills in that damn Central Park of his? WHY?! I cursed his name the whole run. It was also my first foray into the world of Gu. Oh Gu, you thick, slimy, chocolatey, goo. Not quite as easy to get down while running, gasping for air, and attempting not to smear it all over my face, as I thought it might be. And despite the fact that I frequently felt my legs might just give out, leaving me to tell Kimbo to save herself and go on without me, I made it all 11 miles. This week: 12 miles.

Leave a Reply

