Sarong Party Girls at Masak

Masak Menu

Last Friday was our first monthly group dinner in a while. We wanted something a bit cheaper (it’s wedding season after all…) and in a fun location so we could grab drinks afterwards. Masak definitely fit that description. It’s a small restaurant in Alphabet City serving food from Singapore. It’s been getting some hype lately so we were happy to check it out. The first order of business was getting some libations. Masak has a pretty stellar drink list. It’s short but interesting. I got the Sarong Party Girl and man was it good. Bourbon, pineapple, and ginger is apparently a fantastic combo.

Chili Crab Dip with Mantou

We ordered 2 apps for the table, which came recommended by our very cheerful waiter: the Chili Crab Dip and their special Spring Rolls. The crab dip came with mantou, which are fried golden rolls. They’re dense but fluffy on the inside and perfect for scooping up the dip. Nothing to complain about here. They even gave us extra mantou when we quickly finished off the ones provided to us. The spring rolls were good and honestly I couldn’t even tell you what was in them. Spinach? There was some green leafy vegetable inside. They were fried to a crispy perfection.

Burger & Fries

Almost everyone at the table got the burger for dinner since I had read a review saying it was a good one. The burger was HUGE. This is not for the faint of heart. You must be hungry to devour this monstrosity. I’ve only recently begun to like burgers and my preference is for thin ones with less meat. This is not one of those burgers. It still tasted good, just not what I look for in my burgers.

Kim, Me, and Megan

Kim ordered the Spicy Rock Shrimp and Grits. It was good and spicy but in the best kind of way. Sometimes things are spicy just to be spicy but this was a good kind of heat. Not that I know the first thing about grits but these tasted good and creamy, which is what I suspect they should be like? Definitely enjoyable.

I had the soft-shell crab (picture to be added later), since I’ve been craving one for a while and didn’t get any while down in Rehoboth. Even though I ordered the appetizer portion they did not skimp. It was a hefty crab. It was light and crisp and definitely cooked just right. It came with mushrooms and asparagus over a chive sauce. Everything was good but there was definitely something on the plate that was a bit too salty. It started to overwhelm me by the time I finished the dish. For $15 I definitely got my moneys worth and even if it was a little too salty I enjoyed it.

Dave, Mari, and Liz

I’d like to go back and try some of their other main courses to see how they stack up. I don’t know much about Singaporean food but I’d like to experience more.

Leave a Reply

